QU Women’s Ice Hockey Announces Team Accolades at 2014-15 Awards Banquet

QU Women’s Ice Hockey Announces Team Accolades at 2014-15 Awards Banquet

Photos of QU Women's Ice Hockey Awards Dinner

HAMDEN, Conn. – Quinnipiac women's ice hockey interim head coach Cassandra Turner announced the team awards for the 2014-15 season at the awards banquet on Sunday, April 19. Each award was voted on by the players as well as the coaching staff.

Quinnipiac senior forward Morgan Fritz-Ward (Mason City, Iowa) was named the Team MVP, Chelsea Laden (Lakeville, Minnesota) was given the Sarah Devens Award as well as the Coaches Award, Taylar Cianfarano (Oswego, New York) was named the Rookie of the Year and Cydney Roesler (Stittsville, Ontario) was named the Best Defensive Player.

Fritz-Ward elevated her play every season she was a member of the Bobcats, and had a breakout year in 2013-14 with nine goals and six assists. After being named captain for her senior season, Fritz-Ward continued to improve as she finished 2014-15 with a career-high 17 points on three goals and 14 assists. Fritz-Ward was one of the most consistent players on the ice, as she also led all forwards with 30 blocked shots, which was good for fifth on the team. Former Quinnipiac women's ice hockey player Kelly Babstock won the last four Team MVP awards, making Fritz-Ward the first Bobcat other than Babstock to win the award since the 2009-10 season.

Laden was honored with the Sarah Devens Memorial Award, the 19th recipient of the award and first in Quinnipiac women's ice hockey history. The award is in honor of Sarah Devens, who was the former Dartmouth ice hockey, field hockey and lacrosse captain who passed away in 1995. The award is a joint award from ECAC hockey and the Hockey East, which is presented to the student athlete who "demonstrates leadership and commitment both on and off the ice."

Laden was also awarded the Coaches Award by Turner and assistant coach Paul Nemetz-Carlson. This award is selected by the coaching staff and is given to the player who represents the program both on and off the ice in the best manner. In addition to the two awards today, Laden had also received the Mandi Schwartz Student-Athlete of the Year Award from ECAC Hockey and was named second-team All-ECAC this season.

During her senior season, Laden finished with a  program and ECAC record 16 shutouts and was second in NCAA Women's Ice Hockey History, recorded a single-season program record 25 wins, lowest single-season GAA at 1.19, lowest career GAA at 1.56, tied the program record for career shutouts with 25 and set the program record for longest shutout streak at 267:33.

Cianfarano was named the team's Rookie of the Year after an outstanding freshman season where she recorded a team-high 17 goals and 13 assists for a team-high 30 points. Cianfarano led all Rookies and was second in the nation in game-winning goals with eight. This season, Cianfarano also scored the only hat trick for the Bobcats and was named to the ECAC Hockey All-Rookie team. She was also named ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Week five times and ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Month once.

Roesler collected the Best Defensive Player Award for the first time in her career after tying for the team-lead with Kristen Tamberg (North Toronto, Ontario) for the second consecutive season with 52 blocked shots. Roesler also one of the least penalized players on the team and in the country as she recorded just four penalty minutes all season long. This figure was cut down from 28 penalty minutes as a sophomore in 2013-14.

2014-15 Quinnipiac Women's Ice Hockey Highlights:

  • Overall Record: 26-9-3 (Program Record for wins)
  • ECAC Record: 15-5-2 (Program Record for conference wins
  • ECAC Hockey Finish: Third
  • Final National Ranking: Sixth
  • Highest National Ranking: Third
  • First ever NCAA Tournament Appearance
  • NCAA Record for fewest penalty minutes, 162, and penalty minutes per game, 4.26
  • Program record eight game winning streak from Oct. 17 to Nov. 21 and 16 game unbeaten streak from Oct.3 to Dec. 5
  • Chelsea Laden set the program and ECAC Hockey Record for single-season shutouts with 16, program record for single-season wins with 25, program record for lowest GAA at 1.19, program record for lowest career GAA at 1.56, program record for career shutouts with 25, and longest shutout streak in program history at 267:33
  • Erica Uden Johansson was the second player in program history to record at least 40 goals and 40 assists
  • Shiann Darkangelo became second player to record 100 points in program history
  • Uden Johansson competed with Sweden at the Four Nations Cup and IIHF Women's World Championships
  • Darkangelo became first Bobcat to play for the U.S. Women's Senior National Team at Four Nations Cup