Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Places 23 Student-Athletes On 2014-15 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

Quinnipiac Men's Ice Hockey Places 23 Student-Athletes On 2014-15 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

The Quinnipiac University men's ice hockey team placed 23 student-athletes on the 2014-15 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team. 2015-16 captain Soren Jonzzon (Mountan View, California) was also named to the ECAC Hockey Commissioner's Honor Roll in recognition as the top scholar at each league institution. With 23 of its 28 student-athletes receiving academic recognition, Quinnipiac finished with the second-most among all 12 ECAC Hockey league institutions.

"Our student-athletes continue to show a dedication to excellence in the classroom and on the ice," head coach Rand Pecknold said. "We are proud of our team for once-again being among the top academic teams in ECAC Hockey."

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters. One student-athlete from each institution was honored on the Commissioner's List showcasing each program's top scholar from the 2014-15 season.

Jonzzon was a finalist for the prestigious ECAC Hockey Scholar Athlete of the Year before being named to the 2015 Capital One Academic All-District Men's At-Large NCAA Division I First Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of American (CoSIDA). Jonzzon was announced as the Bobcats' captain for the upcoming season after posting career-highs in goals (8), assists (7) and points (15). Jonzzon will graduate on May 16 with a bachelor's degree in biomedical studies after compiling a cumulative grade-point average of 3.94 in three years of undergraduate studies. With his accelarated studies, Jonzzon will complete course work towards his master's degree in May 2016 and will enter medical school, with the goal of becoming a surgeon, the following fall. 

2014-15 co-captain Danny Federico (Acton, Massachusetts) was one of 31 student-athletes in ECAC Hockey to be named to the All-Academic team for a fourth time. Juniors Jonzzon, Michael Garteig (Prince George, British Columbia), Travis St. Denis (Trail, British Columbia), Tom Hilbrich (Clarendon, Illinois) and Jacob Meyers (Chanhassen, Minnesota) earned their third honors of their three-year careers. Sophomores Connor Clifton (Matawan, New Jersey), Brayden Sherbinin (Kelowna, British Columbia), Devon Toews (Abbotsford, British Columbia), Sam Anas (Potomac, Maryland), Tim Clifton (Matawan, New Jersey), Joe Fiala (Verona, Wisconsin), Thomas Schutt (Chanhassan, Minnesota), Derek Smith (Apple Valley, Minnesota) and K.J. Tiefenwerth (Bellmore, New York) all earned their second-straight recognition in their second years. Freshmen Bo and Canon Pieper (Roseville, Minnesota), Nathan and Jonah Renouf (Mississauga, Ontario), Kevin McKernan (Millbury, Massachusetts) and Sean Lawrence (Granite Bay, California) as well as transfer graduate student Justin Agosta (East Meadow, New York) were also recognized in their first years.